Talk to Us
Talk to Us

Consult an Agent

  • Why?
  • (please click only once)

  • * = required


Watch the Shorty Awards, April 8 @7:30

First #KeepGoodGoing Award to be presented

The 5th Annual Shorty Awards ceremony is almost here and with it the announcement of the first #KeepGoodGoing Award presented by New York Life. The Shorty Awards, honors the best in social media across various individual and industry categories. The Awards ceremony will take place April 8, 2013 at the Times Center Theater in New York City. It will be streaming online at

The #KeepGoodGoing Shorty Award will be presented to a mom or dad who is passionate about their family and uses social media to help and inspire others. In all we received almost 400 nominations and more than 6,000 votes were cast. The Award will go to one of our six finalists – Laraine Claire, Paul Jonas, Adam Cohen, Kathy Schmidt, Kathy Zucker, and Colette Butler. The winner will be selected based on the total number of nominations received, the impact and creativity of the nominee’s tweets, and innovation in the use of social media as determined by the esteemed judges of the Real-Time Academy of Short Form Arts & Sciences. #KeepGoodGoing Award judges include Parenting Magazine’s Shawn Bean; Working Mother Magazine’s Jennifer Owens; baseball legend Jamie Moyer; Leigh Anne Touhy, the inspiration for the Academy Award winning movie “The Blind Side;” and New York Life’s Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Joanne Rodgers.

“We are excited about partnering with the Shorty Awards ceremony because it allows us to bring attention to moms and dads who perpetuate good in what may be a small way, but has impact in a big way,” says Liz McCarthy, senior vice president and head of Corporate Communications, New York Life. “Keep Good Going describes both our purpose as a business and our relationships with our customers. Since our Keep Good Going campaign launched in September of 2012, people not only understand and relate to what we’re trying to say — they also immediately begin to share their own life lessons. We hope that this Shorty Award category is an extension of that sharing.

Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Alyssa Milano, Conan O'Brien, Ricky Gervais, Sesame Street's Grover, Ted Leo, and Neil Patrick Harris are all past Shorty Award winners.